NOV 00] COVENTRY CITY COUNCIL NEWS
New Book Opens Up Blue Coat History
pictures of Coventry’s historic Blue Coat school and Lych Gate
Cottages have been uncovered and published in a new book detailing
the history of the buildings.
story of the row of cottages and the school, which have both been
restored as part of the city’s Phoenix Initiative, has been
researched by the city council’s conservation officer George
Blue Coat School and the Lych Gate Cottages have a history going
back to the medieval period.
to the city's Phoenix Initiative the school has been restored to
its former glory but the opportunity has also been taken to
recreate the fascinating history of these buildings and make the
results accessible to both Coventrians and visitors to the city.
has been a pleasure to have been involved with the Old School
that was described when newly built in 1857 as 'an ornament and
credit to the city' "
celebrate the launch, current Blue Coat School pupils
- now in Terry Road, Stoke - dressed in costumes worn by
school pupils at the turn of the last century, while ex-pupils who
remembered the original school also turned out.
A4 sized book has 56 pages and 48 figures including a centre
spread of four colour plates.
THE SCHOOL AS
IT IS NOW
costs £5 and is available from the Tourist Information Centre,
the central library, Herbert Art Gallery and Museum, the City
Record Office and the City Council's Tower Block Reception in Much