CWN - News & Information for Coventry & Warwickshire 20x21spacer.gif (59 bytes)What's New?Search CWN
RSC Actors Nominated For Ian Charleson Award

Three RSC actors have been nominated for this year's Sunday Times/Royal National Theatre lan Charleson Award for young actors in classical theatre. Stephen Mangan, Matthew MacFadyen and Joe McInnes have been nominated for their work with the company in RSC productions of "The School for Scandal" (RST and Barbican 1998) and "Uncle Vanya" (Young Vic 1998). Stephen Mangan and Matthew McFadyen were nominated for their performances as Sir Benjamin Backbite and Charles Surface in "The School for Scandal" and also as Don Pedro and Benedick in Cheek by Jowl's "Much Ado About Nothing". Joe McInnes was nominated for her performance as Sonya in Katie Mitchell's production of "Uncle Vanya".

David OyelowoDavid Oyelowo and Hermione Gulliford, currently appearing with the RSC in "Volpone" and "A Midsummer Night's Dream" as part of the Stratford Summer Festival Season, have also been nominated for their work at the Gate Theatre and The Crucible Theatre, Sheffield. David received his nomination for his performance of The King in "The Suppliants" and Hermione for Olivia in "Twelfth Night". David also appears in "Oroonoko", directed by Gregory Doran at The Other Place in Stratford-upon-Avon, opening on 28 April 1999.

Established in 1990 in memory of actor lan Charleson, the Award is for actors under 30 appearing in plays written up to 1904, the year of the death of Chekhov. Previous winners have included Alexandra Gilbreath, currently playing Hermione in the RSC's highly acclaimed production of "The Winter's Tale" at the Barbican Theatre; lan Hughes, also appearing in "The Winter's Tale"; Toby Stephens, Lucy Whybrow, and Emma Fielding.

RSC Head of Casting Maggie Lunn praised the award for its recognition of young actors. She said:

"It is always wonderful to have a wealth of young talent working at the RSC".

The winner will receive 5,000, the second prize is 2,000 and the third prize 500. This year's judges are actress Penelope Wilton, director and playwright Peter Gill, deputy casting RNT director Wendy Spon and critic John Peter.

The Award Winner will be announced in The Sunday Times on 25 April 1999.

For further information please contact:
Kate Hunter, RSC Senior Press and Public Relations Officer 01789 412622


1x22rule.gif (89 bytes)



150x15more.gif (274 bytes)


Avon Studios

the blackroom

CWN / Arts & Entertainment / RSC / 19 Apr 99

1995-2000 Coventry Internet Developments Ltd

This page modified on 10 November 2008 09:49:15AM